Starting in October, the items in the Google Drive trash will be automatically deleted after 30 days. This way you can save storage space.
Google Drive puts the trash itself on the road
The deleted files in the Google Drive trash can remain there forever until you delete them. These deleted files still take up storage space and could eventually result in having to purchase more storage space through Google On. To counter the unbridled growth of the recycle bin, Google is now introducing a new feature for Google Drive. Deleted files are automatically removed from the recycle bin after 30 days. The new feature will take effect on October 13.
According to Google, this is equivalent to Gmail and other Google services. The company aims to “ensure that behavior is consistent for users across G Suite products.” It is also intended to meet the user’s expectations of “deleting” a file. In addition, there is plenty of time to change your mind and get a file back.
Starting today, Google Drive will issue a notification informing all users of this change. The notification will also be visible in Documents, Sheets, Presentations, etc. from September 29.
Google Drive also recently got a handy way with which you can create a new file very quickly. In addition, Drive is also part of our seven tips that help students to work more productively and our seven tips for working from home smarter. Are you happy with the new Google Drive trash can feature? Let us know in the comments at the bottom of this article.
Source: Google Blog